naukbh, apotheosis, vipclubber

Main -> General-> Music & Media-> How a Record gets made

Jump to page :
  Page 1 of 1 Pages 1
Message format:  Go
apotheosis
Subject : How a Record gets made
Posted : 10/18/2004 9:27 PM (#1585)

I copied this before this other board went down.
This is my friend Rich (who got me the Gioia remixes thank you)

The question is "How does a Record get made?"

Rich's answer:

I'm no expert but...
Great question. I'm soooo not the right person to answer this but I can definately take a stab at it.

I know it's a different process for everyone but some of the basics are usually the same.

Concept
Pre-Production
Production
Editing/Mixing
Mastering
Manufacturing
Distribution
Promotion

I'll try to explain what I know about each of these but there's definately no "rule" and it varies greatly.

Concept:
You have your basic concept: I'm going to record an album using material I've written...or I'm going to record an album of songs submitted by other writers or a combo of the two.

Pre-Production:
Finding the right talent to work on the album...producers, vocalists, musicians, engineers, studios, etc. And most important - someone to pay for it so I don't have to mortgage my home!

Production:
Gathering all of the various talents together in some kind of recording facility and capturing all ideas onto tape (analog or digital)

Editing/Mixing:
Gathering all of the finished recordings...taking the best of the best recordings...adding effects...placing everything where it will belong in the finished product...establishing the final resulting recordings

Mastering:
Transferring the final, finished, fully-edited, fully-polished tracks with the best audio quality possible in all of their glory onto the final digital media format in order to send them for duplication.

Manufacturing:
The process of combing all of the masters with art-work and liner notes in a factory for the manufacturing of the finished product (CDs, records, etc...)